Friends United Cricket Club Sunday - 1st XI v Diu Daredevils CC on Sun 06 Sep 2015 at 13:00
Friends United Cricket Club Won by 46 runs

Match report Friends United CC were host to Division 2 leaders Diu Daredevils at Birbeck Avenue. Diu Daredevils needed a win from this match to win the Division 2 title. Friends United having missed out on promotion needed the win to finish 3rd in the table.

Friends United skipper Piyush won the toss and decided to have a bat on a grassy wicket.

Nirmal and Kirit begin slowly but solidly as they negotiated an excellent opening spell from Dhamo Liladhar as he swing the bowl viciously. Nirmal Ramgi slowly started growing in confidence as he raced to 22 runs but then he tried to play cute shot and gave the catch to wicket keeper. Ramesh Magan joined Kirit on the crease but after surviving few balls tried to hit a cover drive and got caught on the boundary. Rohit Balla at no 4 then started scoring at good pace and 141 but then lost his wicket trying to flick the ball at deep square leg. Kirit completed his 50 but lost his wicket on 55. Nilesh then lost his wicket first ball and then some quick runs from lower order meant Friends United managed to post 180 all out in 39 overs. Sanjay Bala bowled well to take 3/32 in 6.2 overs & Bharat Damania took 2/35 in 8 overs.

In reply Daredevil’s openers Ashish Narendra and Vimal Narendra begin well as they reach 35 without loss but then young pacer Robin Ramgi (17 years) strike in his first 2 overs to give a breakthrough for Friends United. Hemal Ravindralal (27 runs) and Parag had good partnership of 50 runs as they reached 94/2 in 20 overs. But after drinks break Sudhir gave a breakthrough as Parag gave away his wicket trying to break shackles. Captain Bharat Damania started well but then Ramesh Magan bowling off spin balled a full toss and Bharat hit straight to cow corner as Piyush took good catch coming forward. Rohit Balla (2/14) and Ramesh (2/35) took 4 wickets between them to break the back of Diu’s inning and Nilesh (1 wicket) and Nikhil (1 wicket) finished things off as Diu got bowled out for 134 in 35 overs as they buckled under pressure as they finished 2nd in the table.

For Friends United it was a strong end to the league season as they came back from close 5 losses in a row to finish 3rd in the table once again.

Man Of The Match: Rohit Balla (39 runs & 2/14 in 8 overs with 2 maidens)

Friends United Cricket Club Sunday - 1st XI Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
22w 2b 5lb 
for 10 wickets

(39.2 overs)
Nirmal Ramgi ct Vimal b. Dhamo L Vaja 22 28 4 78.57
Kirit Mohane ct Vimal b. Bharat Damania 55 84 2 1 65.48
Ramesh Magan ct Rajesh b. Sanjay J Bala 7 22 31.82
Rohit Balla ct Dhamo b. Vipul Lalgi 39 43 1 90.70
Nilesh Lacmane b Bharat Damania 0 1 0
Dinesh Carsane b Vipul Lalgi 5 6 83.33
Jigar Vassantlal lbw Sanjay J Bala 17 16 1 106.25 1
Nikhil Mulgi run out (Vipul) 0 1 0
Piyush Vanraj b Vipul Lalgi 0 2 0 3
Shudhir Vinodkumar Not Out  6 3 1 200
Robin Ramgi ct Hemal b. Sanjay J Bala 0 1 0

Diu Daredevils CC Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Dhamo L Vaja8.0015115.001.88
Vipul Lalgi6.0041313.676.83
Parag Bamania8.003500.004.38
Sanjay J Bala6.2032310.675.05
Bharat Damania8.0035217.504.38
Nitin H Bamania3.002100.007.00

Diu Daredevils CC Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
17w 6b 8lb 
for 10 wickets
134 (35.3 overs)
Ashish N Vala b Robin Ramgi 17 20 2 1 85.00
Vimal N Vala b Robin Ramgi 12 22 1 54.55
Hemal Ravindralal lbw Rohit Balla 27 42 4 64.29
Parag Bamania ct Jigar b. Sudhir Vinodkumar 18 30 1 60.0
Bharat Damania ct Piyush b. Ramesh Magan 6 10 60.0
Sanjay J Bala b Rohit Balla 5 8 62.50
Vipul Lalgi Not Out  9 14 64.29
Rajesh N Bamania run out (Sudhir) 5 6 83.33
Hiren Solanki b Ramesh Magan 0 2 0
Dhamo L Vaja ct Piyush b. Nilesh Lacmane 2 2 100
Nitin H Bamania ct Piyush b. Nikhil Mulgi 2 2 100

Friends United Cricket Club Sunday - 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Rohit Balla8.021427.001.75
Ramesh Magan8.0035217.504.38
Robin Ramgi4.001226.003.00
Nilesh Lacmane7.0032132.004.57
Dinesh Carsane2.001300.006.50
Shudhir Vinodkumar3.0114114.004.67
Nikhil Mulgi3.30919.002.57

  • Umpire :
    Sashi Patel & Sudhir Patel
  • Scorer :